Scholar Athletes/Teams

The Scholar Athlete Award is the highest student achievement honor awarded annually by the CCCAA. The winners, along with the rest of the annual honor roll, are selected by the CCCAA Awards Committee from nominations made by community colleges throughout California.

Candidates for the Scholar Athlete Award must carry a minimum GPA of 3.5 and must also show outstanding leadership as an athlete, student, or in other college and community activities, as well as have participated in two seasons of sport at a California community college.

The Scholar Team Award is the highest academic team achievement given annually by the CCCAA. All team members must have excelled academically with a total GPA of 3.0 or higher. The team should have demonstrated better-than-average accomplishments in intercollegiate athletic competition.

The California Community College Athletic Association's Award Committee is proud to announce Tess Oakley-Stinson of Glendale College and Nathan Clark of Ohlone College, as their selections to receive the men and women’s 2019 Scholar-Athlete Awards. The selection was difficult as many excellent candidates were nominated by their conferences. Mr. Thomas and Ms. Huffhines, along with all of our Honor Roll awardees, can be proud of their achievements. Each of these Scholar-Athlete award winners excelled academically, athletically, and in citizenship and represent the positive outcomes of dedication, hard work and service. Congratulations to our 2019 award winners! 

Scholar Athlete Press Release (March 8, 2021)

Name Conference School GPA Sport
Emily Campidonica Coast Cabrillo 4.00 Swim/Dive
Destiny Chavarria Coast Gavilan 3.85 Volleyball/Softball
Sophia Cortina Western State Moorpark 4.00 Cross Country/Track
Alejandra Fernandez Central Valley West Hills-Lemoore 3.79 Basketball
Isabella Kelly-Fondersmith Bay Valley Solano 3.75 Soccer
Mina Nakawake South Coast El Camino 4.00 Softball
Breesia Northern Golden Valley College of the Redwoods 4.00 Basketball
Savannah Ornelas Inland Empire Chaffey 3.80 Soccer
Alondra Osuna Pacific Coast Southwestern 3.94 Soccer
Name Conference School GPA Sport
Rylan Gray South Coast Long Beach City 3.85 Track & Field
Owen Hamilton Bay Valley College of Marin 3.98 Baseball
Noah Haynesworth Coast Skyline 3.50 Basketball
Abraham Iniguez Big Eight Folsom Lake 4.00 Soccer
Jovanhy Martinez, Jr. Pacific Coast MiraCosta 3.97 Soccer
Han Seung Seo Western State Glendale 3.94 Baseball
Christopher Watkins Central Valley Clovis 3.94 Cross Country
Kilian Zierer Western State College of the Canyons 3.73 Football
Previous Scholar-Athlete Honor Roll Winners (1984-2018)


2019 FALL SPORTS School
Basketball (Men) Citrus
Basketball (Women) Moorpark
Cross Country (Men) Santa Barbara City
Cross Country (Women) Ventura
Golf (Women) Canyons
Soccer (Men) Fullerton
Soccer (Women) Santa Barbara City
Volleyball (Women) De Anza
Water Polo (Men) Cuesta
Water Polo (Women) Santa Barbara City
Badminton El Camino
Baseball College of Marin
Beach Volleyball Moorpark
Golf (Men) Glendale
Softball Allan Hancock
Swim/Dive (Men) Cuesta
Swim/Dive (Women) Cuesta
Tennis (Men) Folsom Lake
Tennis (Women) Santa Barbara City
Track & Field (Men) Cuesta
Track & Field (Women) Cuesta
Volleyball (Men) Long Beach City
Previous Scholar Team Award Winners (1995-2019)