Scholar Athletes/Teams

The Scholar Athlete Award is the highest student achievement honor awarded annually by the CCCAA. The winners, along with the rest of the annual honor roll, are selected by the CCCAA Awards Committee from nominations made by community colleges throughout California.

Candidates for the Scholar Athlete Award must carry a minimum GPA of 3.5 and must also show outstanding leadership as an athlete, student, or in other college and community activities, as well as have participated in two seasons of sport at a California community college.

The Scholar Team Award is the highest academic team achievement given annually by the CCCAA. All team members must have excelled academically with a total GPA of 3.0 or higher. The team should have demonstrated better than average accomplishments in intercollegiate athletic competition.

The California Community College Athletic Association's Award Committee is proud to announce Aaron Thomas of El Camino College and Brandy Huffhines of Sacramento City College, as their selections to receive the men and women’s 2019 Scholar-Athlete Awards. The selection was difficult as many excellent candidates were nominated by their conferences. Mr. Thomas and Ms. Huffhines, along with all of our Honor Roll awardees, can be proud of their achievements. Each of these Scholar-Athlete award winners excelled academically, athletically, and in citizenship and represent the positive outcomes of dedication, hard work and service. Congratulations to our 2019 award winners! 

Scholar Athlete Press Release (Feb. 28, 2020)

Name Conference College GPA Sport
Nicholas Abcarius Big Eight American River 3.94 Water Polo/Swim
Michael Benz Bay Valley Marin 3.87 Baseball
Joshua Caston Western State Citrus 3.92 Basketball
Leonell Hernandez Central Valley Clovis 3.53 Soccer
Blake Seits Pacific Coast Athl. Miramar 3.78 Basketball
Gabriele Simons Orange Empire Orange Coast 4.00 Water Polo/Swim
Justin Solorio Western State Bakersfield 4.00 Swim
Mark Stanford South Coast Long Beach 4.00 Baseball
Name Conference College GPA Sport
Renata Bath Orange Empire Irvine Valley 3.75 Volleyball
Jaylan Campbell Bay Valley Alameda 4.00 Volleyball
Tatiana Garcia Western State Ventura 4.00 Cross Country/Track
Susan Hennell Golden Valley Lassen 4.00 Soccer/Softball
Katrina Hochmuth Coast West Valley 4.00 Beach Volleyball
Maaria Jaakkola Western State Santa Barbara 4.00 Basketball
Liliana Kahn Central Valley Clovis 4.00 Cross Country
Kaitlyn Peterson South Coast Long beach 3.91 Volleyball/Beach VB
Sarah Simpson South Coast El Camino 4.00 Cross Country/Track
Analia Sotelo Pacific Coast Athl. Imperial Valley 3.75 Volleyball
Vivian Woo Coast San Francisco 3.91 Basketball/Badminton
Previous Scholar-Athlete Honor Roll Winners (1984-2018)


Men’s Basketball Citrus 3.33
Women’s Basketball Skyline 3.36
Men’s Cross Country Moorpark 3.38
Women’s Cross Country El Camino 3.70
Football Butte 3.01
Women’s Golf Sierra 3.68
Men’s Soccer Moorpark 3.01
Women’s Soccer Sierra 3.30
Women’s Volleyball American River 3.51
Men’s Water Polo Orange Coast 3.28
Women’s Water Polo Saddleback 3.40
Badminton El Camino 3.06
Baseball Ohlone 3.35
Beach Volleyball Irvine Valley 3.59
Men’s Golf Santa Barbara City 3.33
Softball Fullerton 3.47
Men’s Swim & Dive Sierra 3.44
Women’s Swim & Dive Santa Barbara City 3.45
Men’s Tennis Ventura  3.48
Women’s Tennis Sierra 3.64
Men’s Track & Field Cuesta 3.10
Women’s Track & Field Ventura 3.58
Men’s Volleyball Orange Coast 3.16