Volleyball's Nagase, Basketball's Jenkins Named 2019-2020 CCCSIA State Athletes of Year

Volleyball's Nagase, Basketball's Jenkins Named 2019-2020 CCCSIA State Athletes of Year

CCCSIA Athletes of the Year Award

The CCCSIA Athlete of the Year program is coordinated and was created in 2011 by the California Community College Sports Information Association (CCCSIA). The award recognizes one male and female student-athlete each year for their on-field accomplishments.

PASADENA - Mere Nagase, who led Feather River College to its first-ever state championship in women's volleyball, and Antoine Jenkins, the high-scoring guard and SoCal Player of the Year from Santiago Canyon College are the California Community College Sports Information Association 2019-2020 State Athletes of the Year. The awards, voted on by members of the CCCSIA Executive Board, are in their ninth year of existence recognizing a top student-athlete from each gender. 

Mere Nagase, Sophomore, Feather River College/Indoor Volleyball (San Leandro High, Oakland)

An All-American First Team setter, Nagase was as advertised in leading Feather River to the CCCAA state championship in December at Southwestern College. Nagase, the state tournament MVP, performed a triple-double with 10 kills, 39 assists and 27 digs in the title match as the Golden Eagles upset previously undefeated Irvine Valley in five sets.

Her quick sets and all-around play contributed in helping four of her teammates also reach double figures in kills. Mere (pronounced Mary) made precision sets on the final four points in a row to give Feather River a 5-set victory over Grossmont in the semifinals. Nagase, from San Leandro High near Oakland, ignited FRC to a 35-2 overall record and 10th straight Golden Valley Conference title. 

Nagase was the CCCSIA December State Women's Athlete of the Month, the CCCWVCA Player of the Week for Week #11, and MVP of the GVC. She earned a scholarship to attend/play at NCAA Division II West Texas A&M. 

She is only the second women's volleyball player to earn AOTY-the other Irvine Valley's Annie Mitchem in 2014-2015.

Antoine Jenkins, Sophomore, Santiago Canyon College/Basketball/(View Park High, Los Angeles)

A 5-foot-11, 150-pound guard, Jenkins was named CCCMBCA State SoCal Player of the Year for 2019-20. He finished second in the state in scoring average with 25 points per game. He led the Hawks in assists at 5.0 per contest. Antoine was second in the state in made field goals with 262, fourth in 3-point shots drained with 98, and 10th in free throws converted with 128. 

He shot an efficient 53 percent from the floor, 45.6 percent from 3-point land, and 83.7 percent at the free throw line. As a team captain, he led Santiago Canyon team to a 28-2 overall record, the #1 South seed, and a state tournament bid before the CCCAA Championships were canceled in March due to the Covid-19 health crisis. 

In the SoCal Regional Playoffs, Jenkins lit up the scoreboard, scoring 37 points in a win over West Los Angeles, then 32 points in the regional finals to beat Cerritos. He scored his season-high of 38 points in a regular season win over El Camino. 

Jenkins was the MVP and Offensive Player of the Year in the Orange Empire Conference as the Hawks shared the conference crown with Riverside City. He is the first men's basketball player to earn AOTY honors.

(Release by Robert Lewis, for the CCCSIA)

Year Men Women
2019-20 Antoine Jenkins (Santiago Canyon; Basketball) Mere Nagase (Feather River)
2018-19 Robert Gasser (San Joaquin Delta; Baseball) Brenda Rosales, Coria (L.A. Harbor; Cross Country, Track)
2017-18 Connor Blair (Butte; Baseball) Ksenia Prokopchuk, Cerritos; Tennis)
2016-17 Jordan Hoy (Fullerton; Football) Melissa Dailey (College of the Siskiyous; Basketball)
2015-16 Cravon Gillespie (Mt. SAC; Track) Marissa Kneisel (College of the Canyons; Soccer, Track)
2014-15 Diego Leon (Hartnell; Cross Country, Track) Annie Mitchem (Irvine Valley; Volleyball, Indoor & Sand)
2013-14 Kemarley Brown (Merritt; Track and Field) Allison Gargalikis (Diablo Valley, Swimming)
2012-13 Henry Chung (Ventura; Swimming) Grace Graham-Zamudio (Glendale; Cross Country, Track)
2011-12 Ahmed Mathlouthi (Santa Monica; Swimming) Andrea Antonissen (Riverside; Water Polo, Swimming)

 • Award first presented in 2011-12