Do and Bando share lead at women's golf state championship; Modesto has team lead

Do and Bando share lead at women's golf state championship; Modesto has team lead

Complete Results

MORRO BAY, Calif. -  Brittney Do of Saddleback College (Mission Viejo) and Nao Bando of Sierra College (Rocklin) each posted a 1-under-par 71 to share the top spot on the leaderboard following the first day of the two-day, 36-hole California Community College Athletic Association women's golf championship being contested on the Morro Bay Golf Course.

Do, the Orange Empire Conference Player of the Year, was in the third of 15 groups, and was the first to post her red score, making the turn at even par and finishing the back nine with two birdies and a bogey to finish at 71.  Bando, the state runner-up a year ago, was in the next grouping and had two birdies and a bogey on the front nine to make the turn at 1-under-par and then had three bogies and three birdies on the back nine.  Those were the only two players to finish under par.  Kylie Sok of Irvine Valley College was a stroke behind at even-par 72.  Eight players were within five strokes of the leaders.

Modesto Junior College posted a team score of 316 as the Pirates are in solid position to stake a claim to their first women's golf state championship.  Janita Vongphoumy led the Pirates with a 74 while Brooke Vierra and Alyse Padilla post identical 80s with Shawna Ratto adding an 82.  Defending state champion Sierra College and 2016 state runner-up Santa Barbara City College each posted team scores of 324.  Canada College was another stroke back at 325.  Sierra has just one state title to its credit while Santa Barbara has four previous titles.  Canada, like Modesto, has not won a state title in women's golf.

Sierra was paced by Bando and Mikia Fang (80) while Santa Barbara was led by sophomore Vanessa Watkins (76) and Lauren Calvin (81).  Canada saw sophomore Aman Sangha card a 75 with Gabby Ruiz turning in an 80.

The CCCAA state championship concludes on Monday with all players teeing off at 8:30 a.m. in a shotgun start.  The awards ceremony will follow immediately.

(Courtesy Jerry Hannula, Saddleback College)