Jenkins, Norris, Hayes named CCCMBCA Players of Year

Jenkins, Norris, Hayes named CCCMBCA Players of Year

RIVERSIDE - Antoine Jenkins, Santiago Canyon; Miles Norris, City College of San Francisco; and Michael Hayes, Las Positas have been selected as the California Community Colleges Men's Basketball Coaches Association Players of the Year. Riverside City College's Phil Mathews and City College of San Francisco's Justin Labagh were named Coaches of the Year.

Jenkins, a 5-11 guard and a graduate of View Park High School in Los Angeles, was second in the state in scoring at 25 points per game. The guard was second in the state in made field goals (262), fourth in three-pointers (98) and 10th in free throws made (128). He also dished out 151 assists, ranking 15th in the state. He becomes Santiago Canyon's first all-state player in Hawks' history.

Norris led the undefeated Rams in scoring at 16 points per game while also averaging 6.1 rebounds. He made 54 percent (172-230) of his field goals and 41.4 percent (60-145) of this three-pointers. A, a 6-10 sophomore out of Brewster Academy in New Hampshire, CT, Norris added 50 assists, 39 blocks and 55 steals, while turning the ball over just 37 times. He was ranked as one of ESPN's Top 100 prospects. He helped the University of Oregon to the Sweet Sixteen in 2019. He transferred to San Francisco City where his uncle had a successful football career and his sister won two state track championships.

Hayes, a 6-4 sophomore out of West High School in Tracy, becomes a two-time all-state selection after earning all-state last season as a freshman. This season, Hayes averaged 21.3 points per game, sixth best in the state. His 11.4 rebounds per contest was the state's second best average, trailing Chaffey's Manu Oulai, another all-state selection. Hayes shot 58.7 percent from the floor (233-397). His 233 were made field goals was the fifth highest in the state. He also was fifth in free throws with 139 on 184 attempted. His 240 defensive rebounds led the state as did his 330 total rebounds. He chipped in 87 assists and 54 steals as he helped Las Positas to a 20-9 record, a runner-up finish to San Francisco in the Coast-North and a spot in the Northern California regional tournament.

Mathews became just the second coach to lead three different California community colleges. Mathews, who has been inducted into the CCCMBCA Hall of Fame, previously led Ventura and San Bernardino Valley colleges to the state championship. He led Ventura to a state championship and San Bernardino Valley to the state tournament semifinals in 2005. Denny Aye, who was scheduled to be inducted into the CCCMBCA Hall of Fame this year, was the first coach to lead three different California community college state tournaments. This year, Mathews' Riverside squad started the year losing 7 of its first 12 games. The Tigers however, recovered, winning 16 of its final 18 games in order to capture a share of the Orange Empire Conference Championship and a spot in the CCCAA State Championship (which was canceled).

Labagh, who has won 15 Coast Conference championships, had the Rams running on a 30-game win streak when the Final Eight was canceled. San Francisco was the state's top-ranked team all season and was positioned to possibly win its fifth state championship. Under Labagh, the Rams have won three state titles, twice finishing as runner-up, including last year when the Rams fell to Fullerton College.

This is the ninth time, Labagh has been honored as state coach of the year.

2019-20 All-State Team
MVPS — Antoine Jenkins, Santiago Canyon; Miles Norris, City College of San Francisco; Michael Hayes, Las Positas
Marquavian Stephens, Southwestern
Christian McCray, West Los Angeles
Darren Williams, Chaffey
Kester Ofoegbu, Long Beach City
Kealen Allen, East Los Angeles
Tim Turner, Ventura
Manu Oulai, Chaffey
Brandon Betson, San Bernardino Valley
Kyle Harding, Allan Hancock
Toby Okwuokei, Citrus
Jamaal Barnes, Mt. San Jacinto
Emeka Udengi, City College of San Francisco
Ryan Johnson, Sequoias
Brandon Recek, Yuba
Kobe Ordonio, Gavilan
Seth Coddington, Columbia
Thomas Nelson, Redwoods
Cornell Greenwood, Yuba
Ben Baker, West Valley
Atmar Mundu, Santa Rosa
Keshawn Bruner, Fresno City

Honorable Mention
Dayshone Henry, Ventura
Christoper Bradford, Canyons
Elias King, Santa Monica

(Robert Schmidt, CCCMBCA)