Former College of San Mateo standout Leatiota named to 2018 Outland Trophy Watch List

(Courtesy College of San Mateo Athletics)
(Courtesy College of San Mateo Athletics)

DALLAS, Texas -  Another Eastern Michigan University football player was named to a preseason watch list today, July 24, as senior Jimmy Leatiota (San Jose, Calif.-Wilcox (College of San Mateo)) was distinguished as a candidate for the 2018 Outland Trophy presented by the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases for the best interior lineman in college football, as selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

Leatiota is one of five Mid-American Conference lineman named to the 82-man watch list. The 6-foot-3, 285-pound senior was a All-Big 6 Conference first-team selection during his freshman season at the College of San Mateo in 2015. He helped the Bulldogs to a 7-4 record that season and a berth in the Northern California Football Conference semifinal game.

The San Jose, Calif. native has been a stalwart on the EMU offensive line since his arriving on campus. A candidate for the 2017 Outland Trophy, he helped anchor an overhauled offensive line at right guard that ranked second in the MAC and 28th nationally in the fewest sacks given up in 2017. For his efforts, Leatiota earned Second Team All-MAC accolades while also earning Academic All-MAC honors. EMU's offense ranked third in the MAC in passing offense at 257.3 yards per game through the air. The line also gelled down the stretch for the rushing attack, as EMU racked up 815 yards on the ground and four 100-yard rushers during the final four games.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) All-America Team.

The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to up to seven semifinalists on Nov. 14. Six days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 73rd Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced at the Werner Enterprises Outland Trophy Awards Dinner produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee on Jan. 9 .

The FWAA, founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team.     

OT Paul Adams, Missouri
OT Trey Adams, Washington
OT Hakeem Adeniji, Kansas
C Ryan Anderson, Wake Forest
G Alex Bars, Notre Dame
OT Ryan Bates, Penn State
DT Terry Beckner, Missouri
DT Ryan Bee, Marshall
G David Beedle, Michigan State
G Beau Benzschawel, Wisconsin
C Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin
OT Lanard Bonner, Arkansas State
G Tyler Bowling, Tulsa
C Garrett Bradbury, N.C. State
G Parker Braun, Georgia Tech
G Ben Bredeson, Michigan
DT Derrick Brown, Auburn
C Jesse Burkett, Stanford
OT Yodny Cajuste, West Virginia
DT Marquise Copeland, Cincinnati
C Deontae Crumitie, Troy
OT Michael Deiter, Wisconsin
G Tommy Doles, Northwestern
G O'Shea Dugas, Louisiana Tech
C Alex Eberle, Florida State
OT David Edwards, Wisconsin
OT Bobby Evans, Oklahoma
C Justin Falcinelli, Clemson
C Lo Falemaka, Utah
G Hjalte Froholdt, Arkansas
C Lamont Gaillard, Georgia
DT Greg Gaines, Washington
C Tyler Gauthier, Miami
DT Youhanna Ghaifan, Wyoming
C Jake Hanson, Oregon
G Phil Haynes, Wake Forest
G Nate Herbig, Stanford
DT Trysten Hill, UCF
OT Mitch Hyatt, Clemson
G Martez Ivey, Florida
C Jordan Johnson, UCF
DT Dre'Mont Jones, Ohio State
G Michael Jordan, Ohio State
G Luke Juriga, Western Michigan
C John Keenoy, Western Michigan
G Marcus Keyes, Oklahoma State
C Sean Krepsz, Nevada
DT Dexter Lawrence, Clemson
DT Ira Lewis, Baylor
DT Ray Lima, Iowa State
OT Chris Lindstrom, Boston College
OT Greg Little, Ole Miss
OT Toa Lobendahn, USC
OT Joe Lowery, Ohio
OT Kaleb McGary, Washington
C Connor McGovern, Penn State
OT Patrick Mekari, California
C Chandler Miller, Tulsa
DT David Moa, Boise State
C Sam Mustipher, Notre Dame
C Will Noble, Houston
OT Marcus Norman, USF
DT Ed Oliver, Houston
C Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama
G Ben Powers, Oklahoma
OT Isaiah Prince, Ohio State
OT Dalton Risner, Kansas State
DT Olive Sagapolu, Wisconsin
G Dru Samia, Oklahoma
OT Max Scharping, NIU
DT Jordon Scott, Oregon
NT Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State
OT Trey Smith, Tennessee
OT Trevon Tate, Memphis
G Calvin Throckmorton, Oregon
DT Jerry Tillery, Notre Dame
G Patrick Vahe, Texas
DT Ricky Walker, Virginia Tech
DT Christian Wilkins, Clemson
OT Jonah Williams, Alabama
DT Daniel Wise, Kansas

(Courtesy Eastern Michigan Athletics)